Finding Joy Through My Tears

This blog is to share my journey with God through the heartache and pain of losing my son, Chandler. An outlet for me of sorts. Follow me on my road of grief to healing through the Lord.

The Beginning of Truth…. Chandler’s Story

on June 1, 2014

“We do not want you to be uninformed about the hardships we suffered. We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life. Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But, this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead. He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us, as you help us by your prayers. Than many will give thanks on our behalf for the gracious favor granted us in answer to the prayers of many.”

~2 Corinthians 1:8-11

I have loved these verses this past year. I have etched them in my heart. Greg, the girls and I have not wanted in any way to keep those around us uninformed. We have been astounded at the way that everyone around us has rallied behind us. We stand amazed at the love that has been poured out on our family. Prayers, cards, dinners, money, flowers, messages, phone calls. I could go on and on. We still receive all of these things today. Precious. We could not have made it without you. There is no way.

This verse explains how we have felt the last year. Great pressure, far beyond the ability to endure, and yes, I have even despaired of life. There have been times that we felt like we could not get up and go on. And, yes. I have been rescued. In fact, I am rescued every, single day. I have had to learn to rely on God. I have had to set my hope in Him. And, you have played a significant role in this for us. Your prayers. They have protected us. The prayers have led us to put our trust in God and His ways. Not our own.

Today, is June 1st. This is the beginning of the month that we lost Chandler exactly a year ago. The Lord has placed it on my heart to begin sharing the entire story of where we have been, what we have been through, and where we are right now. He is also calling me to inform you of the truth. The truth of exactly where we are. The truth about what happened to our son. Please know that our story isn’t finished. There is so much to tell. But, it isn’t finished. We are still living out our story. I have no idea what that looks like. But, God does. So, again, I put my hope in Him.

I ask that you pray for me as I set out on this journey. I ask that you pray that my story is God honoring. Above all else, it must honor God. The words have to come from Him, not me. Otherwise, I don’t want to have anything to do with it. There are parts of this story that are hard to tell. I don’t want to dishonor my son or anyone else. But, God has reminded me, that the truth will set me free. Not my truth or what I think it is. But, God’s truth.

My biggest prayer is that God will speak and this will help someone in some way. That, someone will see this and know that what they are doing at this point in their life, the relationship they are in, the path they are choosing is wrong. It is destroying you. It is causing you a lot of pain and misery. And, most of all, I pray that someone sees this that is at the end of their rope. They feel like they cannot hold on anymore. They do not see a way out. They feel like they will never be free.

You can be FREE. Please, hear that today. You can be free through Christ. No matter how tight the chains are, no matter how helpless you feel. I know that some of you are sitting here today feeling like there is no way out for you. There is a way out.

Galations 5:1 tells us, “Christ has set us free to live a free life. So take your stand! Never again let anyone put a harness of slavery on you,” ~The Message

So, please take heart today. There is more to you than the bondage that is holding you down. You can break the chains and break free from this relationship, the drug addiction, the alcohol addiction, the past…. There is freedom waiting for you through Jesus Christ.

What happened to Chandler was not intentional but it was a cry for help. The bondage was so deep that he didn’t know what to do. It does not have to end this way for you. I imagine that he felt completely helpless that day. He felt he had nowhere to turn and no way to break free. I do not ever want to see another person suffer like this. I do not want to see another set of parents experience the grief that Greg and I have.

I am going to tell you Chandler’s story. My story. Our family’s story. It is not a story that is easy to tell. But, it is time. I have prayed that God would bring healing not only to myself and my family but to others as well. The price we have paid is too high for God not to bring blessings out of Chandler’s life.

So, if you are that person today who is stuck in something that you feel is way over your head and you cannot get out of. Hold on! You can be free.

Reach out to your Pastor, a godly friend, a counselor. Reach out and don’t keep it hidden any longer. The truth shall set you free.

I will continue my story throughout this month. Blessings to you. Until then, Brandi

5 responses to “The Beginning of Truth…. Chandler’s Story

  1. Dolly and Eddy says:

    So good to hear from you again….you and Greg and the girls remain in our thoughts and prayers.

  2. […] The Beginning of Truth…. Chandler’s Story (branditrent3.wordpress.com) There have been times that we felt like we could not get up and go on. And, yes. I have been rescued. In fact, I am rescued every, single day. I have had to learn to rely on God. I have had to set my hope in Him. And, you have played a significant role in this for us. Your prayers. They have protected us. The prayers have led us to put our trust in God and His ways. Not our own. […]

  3. Prayers for you as you write your thoughts down. May God give you peace each day!

  4. kathy carver says:

    My prayers continue for you and your family Brandy! May God bless you! I also pray that your message will help many be set FREE from what ever the issue may be!

  5. Bless you! It has always been my belief that something wonderful ALWAYS comes from something horrible.As a mother who came close to experiencing the loss of a child ,I cant even begin to imagine the road you all have traveled. My thoughts and prayers are with you as go through this. Someone ,somewhere needs to hear this story or else it would not have been put on your heart to do this. You are an amazing woman. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Brandi Trent

my journey to finding god in the midst of grief

all our lemmony things

for when life hands you lemons

Urban Hallelujah

Let everything that has breath praise the Lord

Dose Dependent Ministries

Faith, Food, Family: Real Life, Well Lived

Ephesians 5:16

Redeeming the time...

Finding Joy Through My Tears

This blog is to share my journey with God through the heartache and pain of losing my son, Chandler. An outlet for me of sorts. Follow me on my road of grief to healing through the Lord.

